Luatua named MVP

Luatua named MVP

Outstanding loose forward Steven Luatua has been voted our Most Valuable Player as well as the Players’ Player of the Year at the Blues Awards for 2017.

The much-loved Blues stalwart, who is leaving the club for Bristol after earning 76 caps since his debut in 2012, was honoured with both awards at a glamorous ceremony held at SKYCITY on Tuesday evening.

He was denied a third award by leading try scorer Rieko Ioane, who was voted the Fans’ Player of the Year.

New-recruit Michael Collins received the Rookie of the Year award, recognising a remarkable debut season that saw him earn 13 caps, and for the second year in a row up-and-coming rugby talent Dalton Papalii was named our Development Player of the Year.

Popular winger Matt Duffie was awarded the Mealamu Medal for being the Club Person of the Year, an award that recognises the person who best represents our Blues values and commitments on and off the field.

Former Crusaders prop Alex Hodgman won the 2017 Player in the Community award for his tireless efforts in our community.

As well as giving out awards, the club honoured our departing players – especially 99-cap veteran Charlie Faumuina, who is leaving to join French rugby club Toulouse.

2017 Blues Awards winners:

Player in the Community Award – sponsored by Nestle | Alex Hodgman

Development Player of the Year – sponsored by Go Media | Dalton Papalii

Rookie of the Year – sponsored by nib | Michael Collins

Club Person of the Year – sponsored by Barfoot & Thompson | Matt Duffie

SKYCITY Fans’ Player of the Year | Rieko Ioane

BNZ Players’ Player of the Year | Steven Luatua

Most Valuable Player – sponsored by Bolton Equities | Steven Luatua

Photo by Photosport NZ